Last updated 1:12a.m. E.T. on March 21, 2021. Relying on the Louisiana Secretary of State office's statistics. Follow our Twitter for further insight into this election and more.

District 2

In accordance with Louisiana law, as no candidate received at least 50% of the vote in the primary, the top two candidates will compete in a runoff election on April 24, 2021. Those candidates are Troy Carter, a Democrat who received 36% of the vote, and Karen Carter Peterson, a Democrat who received 23% of the vote.

District 5

Julia Letlow, a Republican, won the Louisiana District 5 Special Congressional Election. Letlow will replace her late husband, Luke Letlow (R), who was elected last year but died from complications of COVID-19.

Contact our social media director at